TF2 Performance Optimization

Anything dealing with the game Team Fortress 2 or the servers we host for it.
User avatar
scobywhru
Posts: 4773
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:12 pm
Xfire: scobywhru
Location: Fresno, CA
Contact:

TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by scobywhru » Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:25 pm

Thes Commands offload various rendering and audio tasks off of the first core of a CPU onto other cores but can cause glitches.

Place these Commands in autoexec.cfg file in folder - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\cfg"
r_threaded_renderables 1
mat_queue_mode 2
r_threaded_particles 1
r_threaded_client_shadow_manager 1
cl_threaded_bone_setup 1
cl_threaded_client_leaf_system 1
snd_mix_async 1

snd_mix_async will cause audio glitches but all shots still make noise, it just seems to cut off a little in the beginning or end, mat_queue_mode seems to make my inputs not register onscreen for a bit causing a skipping effect but other models work fine, and one of the cl_ commands makes my model flicker every once in a while. The Safest commands are the r_ commands I have had them all on with no ill effects.

If you have issues with any of these there default is 0 except mat_queue_mode which is -1 and r_threaded_particles which is 1

This gave me more performance, I set the Heapsize to half of my 4GB of RAM so 2gb if you have more or less adjust it accordingly until you get the best performance, 1024000 is 1gb 512000 is 512mb etc. To set the Heapsize right click TF2 icon in Steam menu go to properties then click the Set Launch Options put this in addition to whatever else you have there.
-heapsize 2048000

Maximum heapsize in tf2 seems to be 2048000 if you set it higher the game seems to crash, not sure on exact amount but it is somewhere between 2048000 and 3072000
Last edited by prolix on Sat Mar 08, 2014 2:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: updated new autoexec location
Image
Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy wrote:He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.
User avatar
KoD
KoD [@at] joe . to
<b>KoD</b> <i>[@at]</i> <u>joe</u> . to
Posts: 9055
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:48 pm

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by KoD » Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:41 pm

Just a warning to anyone with an Intel CPU - This MIGHT increase crash rating by like 1000% - It did for me, so now I only use mat_queue_mode -2

And yes, I got like a 170% increase in performance, but it wasn't worth it. I crashed half way threw every map.
Last edited by KoD on Fri Dec 12, 2008 7:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Vegetarian
Posts: 1399
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Everywhere

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by Vegetarian » Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:45 pm

It didn't crash me and I got an intel processor in my pc. Don't know what makes it not crash, but it's not like I used it besides testing. Not much difference for me to care anyways.
Something goes here, but it's not important
User avatar
cold_blade
Posts: 1294
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:18 pm
Location: Juneau, Alaska

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by cold_blade » Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:32 pm

Does this work with dual processors? I have yet to get TF2 to work properly on my computer
Ninge wrote:Seeing how I am the oldest member here, besides joe, you must please me with something or joe
User avatar
scobywhru
Posts: 4773
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:12 pm
Xfire: scobywhru
Location: Fresno, CA
Contact:

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by scobywhru » Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:33 pm

yes that is the purpose of them, but some have been depreciated since I wrote this or are on by default, please keep that in mind.

Also updated post with some new info about heapsize.
Image
Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy wrote:He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.
User avatar
cold_blade
Posts: 1294
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:18 pm
Location: Juneau, Alaska

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by cold_blade » Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:51 pm

Thank you kind sir.

I added this and it runs GREAT at the moment it's not exhibiting any of the bugs you warned about but it needs more testing, I played on an empty server (TF4 was empty at the time) and had abnormal video settings, at least it seems playable now :)
Ninge wrote:Seeing how I am the oldest member here, besides joe, you must please me with something or joe
User avatar
TheKing
Posts: 1110
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:42 pm
Location: The recieving end of a pyro's flamethrower
Contact:

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by TheKing » Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:11 pm

this crashed me, i'm intel. just helping people determine the odds.
Avvatar wrote:Oh neat. Make sure you ride bl4nk's nuts till it's all better. He enjoys it.
Image
TheKing.j2: windows explorer?
joe: final boss is hard
User avatar
Rat-morningstar
sexy Belgian god
<b><u>sexy Belgian god</u></b>
Posts: 9264
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 9:47 am
Location: belgium

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by Rat-morningstar » Mon Aug 10, 2009 4:16 pm

intel inside, idiot outside
Image
User avatar
cold_blade
Posts: 1294
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:18 pm
Location: Juneau, Alaska

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by cold_blade » Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:14 am

Rat-morningstar wrote:intel inside, idiot outside
it made me lol...

I'm running dual Intel Xeon's giving 4 logical processors, this stuff speeds it way the hell up (including downloading maps and contacting server! I don't know either!) but I have seen a couple crashes since but I have nothing to compare it with.
Ninge wrote:Seeing how I am the oldest member here, besides joe, you must please me with something or joe
User avatar
Lexiprawn
Zookeeper and Conductor of Prose
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:02 am

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by Lexiprawn » Sat Mar 08, 2014 1:47 pm

autoexec.cfg no longer exists in that location.
prolix
Posts: 2278
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 6:46 pm

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by prolix » Sat Mar 08, 2014 2:11 pm

Lexiprawn wrote:autoexec.cfg no longer exists in that location.

D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\cfg

D:\ being C:\ for most people, I have extra HDD ~ Updated Scooby's post with this change
User avatar
Wolsk
Im hungry, i need a fur burger
<font color=blue>Im hungry, i need a fur burger</font>
Posts: 9910
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: under your bed

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by Wolsk » Sat Mar 08, 2014 6:09 pm

oh god lexi wtf
User avatar
mbaxter
Now With Added Calcium!
<b>Now With <font color=#00689c>Added Calcium!</font></b>
Posts: 11465
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 12:04 am
Contact:

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by mbaxter » Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:47 pm

oh god the necromancy
Image
User avatar
Lexiprawn
Zookeeper and Conductor of Prose
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:02 am

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by Lexiprawn » Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:15 pm

I came across a lot in my search for the Admin Application forum.
User avatar
scobywhru
Posts: 4773
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 9:12 pm
Xfire: scobywhru
Location: Fresno, CA
Contact:

Re: TF2 Performance Optimization

Post by scobywhru » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:28 am

Twines thread on this probably would have been the better necro he had a more optimized low resource config then I ever bothered with.
Image
Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy wrote:He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.
Post Reply