Fencing and bad clients

"such is life" - real life: yours, preferably
nightmare 101
thread killer, post spawner

Fencing and bad clients

Post by nightmare 101 » Sat Nov 02, 2013 8:29 pm

So I work as a contractor, building fences. The customer we have been dealing with recently has a bat shit crazy boyfriend who is controlling beyond belief. We actually don't even deal with the client/homeowner because I believe he is refusing to let her talk to us at this point. Now, here is the big issue.

We left about $3000 worth of tools, including an auger and cut-off saw, in his yard because we were coming back (this is pretty typical of us, we keep the serial numbers of all of our equipment in case anything goes missing). Well, we come back one day and we don't see the auger sitting ANYWHERE. We call the client who informs us that Lee has locked the tools up in a shed and he is the only one with the key. We ask politely to let us get our stuff, and the client says 'Sure come by anytime.' On the other hand, we have a few angry voicemails from lee saying not to come before 1 o clock, and as of most recently, not to walk onto "his" property at all. He has been extremely demanding of us from day one and excuses his behavior by saying "he doesn't want to get ripped off".