Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Like such as the NIPPER
Post Reply
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by ehlohel » Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:22 pm

Long story short, I need an env_shooter to shoot sprites rather than models. I typed into the model field 'sprites/blueglow1' and in-game, it shoots out huge 'ERROR' models as opposed to a sprite. This is obviously because it is looking for a MODEL named blueglow1. How do I get it to shoot sprites?

I know it's possible because I've seen it done in many nipper maps, as well as being confirmed both in the entity itself and the Valve Developer Wiki.

Several google searches have turned up nothing. I really would like to have this nice little feature.

for those who may be reading this with the same problem: the solution is you type in the sprite name (ie 'sprites/blueglow1.vmt') with a .vmt at the end. you type this in where it asks for a model.
Last edited by ehlohel on Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
Avvatar
Veni. Legi. Docuit, inportuna.
Posts: 10182
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 3:58 am
Location: San Jose

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by Avvatar » Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:34 pm

Check the flags.
Image
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by ehlohel » Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:38 pm

turns out you need to change the name to 'sprites/blueglow.vmt for it to work. thanks anyway.



delete thread?
Image
User avatar
NightFantom
fuck you i'm a dragon
<font color=#800000>fuck you i'm a dragon</font>
Posts: 4692
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 6:16 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by NightFantom » Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:43 pm

nah, just let it die

like this one http://forums.joe.to/viewtopic.php?f=144&t=45466
that seems like a huge amount of work for no good reason - joe
or, you know, sarcasm - Neelpos
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by ehlohel » Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:03 pm

Okay, since I have another question almost directly related to this thread...


...how do I make an env_shooter shoot custom sprites? I have 4 custom textures that are 128x128 and, simply put, I want them to shoot out of the env_shooter. so far all it does is crash my game when it triggers. in hammer there are no problems (as in "Check for Problems") and I don't know what's happening. Is there a certain .vmt code that I need to use?
Image
User avatar
MrBlip
It was inevitable.
Posts: 6918
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:55 pm
Location: Narshe

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by MrBlip » Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:11 pm

What game?

I had a shooter with sprites in one of my CS:S maps, but every since CS:S was updated to the newer source engine, it crashes every time the shooter is activated.
9:18 PM - mrblip: im allowed to have my own opinions
9:19 PM - Dr. Doctorpus: no youre not
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by ehlohel » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:13 pm

yeah, it only crashes when the shooter is activated for me, too.
and it's CS:S
Image
User avatar
MrBlip
It was inevitable.
Posts: 6918
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:55 pm
Location: Narshe

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by MrBlip » Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:45 pm

My guess is we're SOL because the orange box update for CS:S broke so much shit.
9:18 PM - mrblip: im allowed to have my own opinions
9:19 PM - Dr. Doctorpus: no youre not
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by ehlohel » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:10 pm

god dammit, I was making a room that had a broken wall in it that was supposed to be the 'internet', and things like "OMG U HAX!" and "WTF OMG" would shoot out of it. it woulda been awesome
:[
Image
User avatar
mbaxter
Now With Added Calcium!
<b>Now With <font color=#00689c>Added Calcium!</font></b>
Posts: 11461
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 12:04 am
Contact:

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by mbaxter » Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:26 pm

How about making a simple model of the text?
Image
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by ehlohel » Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:47 pm

mbaxter wrote:How about making a simple model of the text?
I just made them sprites that are floating in the room. and plus, I have literally no modeling experience, at all.

and I am trying to limit the amount of custom things i use because PakRat makes the file fucking MASSIVE.

is there an alternative program to pakrat that doesn't make a file big enough to package the entire game itself, and then some?
Image
User avatar
Avvatar
Veni. Legi. Docuit, inportuna.
Posts: 10182
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 3:58 am
Location: San Jose

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by Avvatar » Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:18 pm

Uhhh, pakrat isn't the problem. If pakrat is making the file huge it's because of something you're doing.
Image
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by ehlohel » Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:28 pm

Avvatar wrote:Uhhh, pakrat isn't the problem. If pakrat is making the file huge it's because of something you're doing.
I put in two custom sounds and two decals into a map... it was over 100mb and it was a fairly small map.
Image
User avatar
MrBlip
It was inevitable.
Posts: 6918
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:55 pm
Location: Narshe

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by MrBlip » Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:52 pm

What's the size of the map before pakrat and the size of it after?
9:18 PM - mrblip: im allowed to have my own opinions
9:19 PM - Dr. Doctorpus: no youre not
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: Making an env_shooter shoot sprites

Post by ehlohel » Thu Mar 24, 2011 5:20 pm

I don't know, I'd have to re-compile it but it was probably due to the two songs.
Image
Post Reply