level visible through skybox

Like such as the NIPPER
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

level visible through skybox

Post by ehlohel » Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:21 pm

okay, so, I've come incredibly close to finishing and compiling this abstract map I've been working on for the past few months. problem is, I'm worried that other parts of the level will be visible through the skybox - as i've seen in other maps of mine. the brush faces (or at least almost all of them) that touch the void are nodraw.

is there anyway to prevent this? i really don't want to have to remove the skybox in the places that I'll likely have to.

and does this problem only happen if you have a 3d skybox? or only when you don't?
Image
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by ehlohel » Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:45 pm

16 views and no replies?
Image
User avatar
Wolsk
Im hungry, i need a fur burger
<font color=blue>Im hungry, i need a fur burger</font>
Posts: 9910
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: under your bed

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by Wolsk » Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:54 pm

Post some pictures because I don't exactly get it.
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by ehlohel » Fri Jun 10, 2011 9:58 pm

Image
Image
User avatar
NIPPER
Posts: 10684
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by NIPPER » Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:40 pm

only solution I can think of is to build part of the exterior of the building and move the skybox further away from the window
User avatar
MrBlip
It was inevitable.
Posts: 6918
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:55 pm
Location: Narshe

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by MrBlip » Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:42 pm

I have never once experienced this issue in source. I think it was primarily a goldsrc problem.

I'd say copy that one part of the map and compile it separately, as a test. If you experience that problem, try creating a box around the window for the skybox, instead of having the texture flush with the side.
9:18 PM - mrblip: im allowed to have my own opinions
9:19 PM - Dr. Doctorpus: no youre not
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by ehlohel » Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:11 am

Another problem:
I'm trying to make a prop_dynamic_override (citizen model) sit on a couch. I added a trigger_look in front of him so when the player looks at him, he stands up, and then disappears. Thing is, every time i go into hammer he is in the normal "ragdoll" mode, even if i adjust it in the models tab and save it. Do I have to add a trigger that sets his animation to that, too?
Image
User avatar
NIPPER
Posts: 10684
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by NIPPER » Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:39 am

ignore what he looks like in hammer, it should display whatever animation you set in-game
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by ehlohel » Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:55 am

i would do that if, when i re-launched hammer, his animation was still the same. but it resets to the default animation when i look in the tab, and i even tried to set his animation in the model browser (but that seems to do nothing).

but, even though it does this, it should still look like he's sitting, right?
Image
User avatar
NIPPER
Posts: 10684
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by NIPPER » Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:27 pm

edit it once, save it, and don't ever look at the object properties for that entity again
I think that's how it worked for me
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by ehlohel » Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:42 pm

alright, thanks.

sorry for all the questions, but do you know of a place i can find a nice space skybox? i tried previously to make a big box of a space texture, but it looked really tacky because you could see the edges. I haven't seen any skyboxes in the links you posted here.
Image
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by ehlohel » Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:56 pm

okay, so, i compiled it and there isn't a leak i don't think, but i can see the level through the skybox - like i was worried i would.

it isn't so much as a small problem as i thought it would be - if I can't fix it i really basically have to jump ship on this one, unless i revamp practically everything.

every room that there is a skybox i can see other parts of the level. is there any fix for this, at all?
Image
User avatar
Magnus
Posts: 4557
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:52 pm
Location: Falling to Earth

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by Magnus » Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:02 pm

There is a fix. Infact, its more of a standard procedure in most maps. You have to basically segregate each room with an area_portal brush.

Basically, what you are getting is a leak, in that the engine assumes that the level geometry is all one floor. Using the area portal to segregate each room into separate visleafs can solve the problem.
Source Wiki wrote:Every visible surface of a map is part of one visleaf or another. Visleafs are used primarily by the Rendering Engine to determine (before rendering each frame) which areas of the map might need to be rendered on screen.


Basically, the engine doesn't know what should be rendered on screen. By adding areaportals, you seperate each visleaf cluster, allowing you to control what should be rendered when.

That wiki has a ton of info on how many of the entities and textures work.
Last edited by Magnus on Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"What isn't remembered never happened. Memory is merely a record. You just need to re-write that record."
"Ummm, if I die... It's gonna be your fault" -Mr.Blip
"J2 I am disappoint."
Gr¦m wrote:dang mangus, is that like 15 inches?
User avatar
ehlohel
that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit
<b><i>that's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit</i></b>
Posts: 836
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:24 pm
Location: arghhh

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by ehlohel » Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:18 am

now that I've got all that cleared up, my prop_dynamic_override, even if I compile it while his animation is set to Sit_Chair and it displays this in hammer, upon compilation it shows him in the T-position. I don't quite understand what is wrong here, if anyone could help.
Image
User avatar
NIPPER
Posts: 10684
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 9:49 pm
Contact:

Re: level visible through skybox

Post by NIPPER » Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:21 am

you're typing that in for "Default Animation" and not just selecting it from the model tab right?
Post Reply