joe.to forums

online gaming community



It is currently Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:28 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:12 pm
Posts: 4772
Location: Fresno, CA
Xfire: scobywhru
Thes Commands offload various rendering and audio tasks off of the first core of a CPU onto other cores but can cause glitches.

Place these Commands in autoexec.cfg file in folder - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\cfg"
r_threaded_renderables 1
mat_queue_mode 2
r_threaded_particles 1
r_threaded_client_shadow_manager 1
cl_threaded_bone_setup 1
cl_threaded_client_leaf_system 1
snd_mix_async 1

snd_mix_async will cause audio glitches but all shots still make noise, it just seems to cut off a little in the beginning or end, mat_queue_mode seems to make my inputs not register onscreen for a bit causing a skipping effect but other models work fine, and one of the cl_ commands makes my model flicker every once in a while. The Safest commands are the r_ commands I have had them all on with no ill effects.

If you have issues with any of these there default is 0 except mat_queue_mode which is -1 and r_threaded_particles which is 1

This gave me more performance, I set the Heapsize to half of my 4GB of RAM so 2gb if you have more or less adjust it accordingly until you get the best performance, 1024000 is 1gb 512000 is 512mb etc. To set the Heapsize right click TF2 icon in Steam menu go to properties then click the Set Launch Options put this in addition to whatever else you have there.
-heapsize 2048000

Maximum heapsize in tf2 seems to be 2048000 if you set it higher the game seems to crash, not sure on exact amount but it is somewhere between 2048000 and 3072000

_________________
Image
Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy wrote:
He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.


Last edited by prolix on Sat Mar 08, 2014 1:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
updated new autoexec location


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:41 pm 
 


 <center><b><p style='color:#fff;text-shadow:2px 2px 8px #f2f'></p></b>
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:48 pm
Posts: 8957
Just a warning to anyone with an Intel CPU - This MIGHT increase crash rating by like 1000% - It did for me, so now I only use mat_queue_mode -2

And yes, I got like a 170% increase in performance, but it wasn't worth it. I crashed half way threw every map.


Last edited by KoD on Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:45 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 1399
Location: Everywhere
It didn't crash me and I got an intel processor in my pc. Don't know what makes it not crash, but it's not like I used it besides testing. Not much difference for me to care anyways.

_________________
Something goes here, but it's not important


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:32 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Does this work with dual processors? I have yet to get TF2 to work properly on my computer

_________________
Ninge wrote:
Seeing how I am the oldest member here, besides joe, you must please me with something or joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:33 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:12 pm
Posts: 4772
Location: Fresno, CA
Xfire: scobywhru
yes that is the purpose of them, but some have been depreciated since I wrote this or are on by default, please keep that in mind.

Also updated post with some new info about heapsize.

_________________
Image
Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy wrote:
He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 12:51 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Thank you kind sir.

I added this and it runs GREAT at the moment it's not exhibiting any of the bugs you warned about but it needs more testing, I played on an empty server (TF4 was empty at the time) and had abnormal video settings, at least it seems playable now :)

_________________
Ninge wrote:
Seeing how I am the oldest member here, besides joe, you must please me with something or joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 1:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 1106
Location: The recieving end of a pyro's flamethrower
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:16745261
this crashed me, i'm intel. just helping people determine the odds.

_________________
Avvatar wrote:
Oh neat. Make sure you ride bl4nk's nuts till it's all better. He enjoys it.

Image
Quote:
TheKing.j2: windows explorer?
joe: final boss is hard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 2:16 pm 
 sexy Belgian god
 <b><u>sexy Belgian god</u></b>
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 8:47 am
Posts: 9256
Location: belgium
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:16753648
intel inside, idiot outside

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 1:14 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:18 pm
Posts: 1294
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Rat-morningstar wrote:
intel inside, idiot outside

it made me lol...

I'm running dual Intel Xeon's giving 4 logical processors, this stuff speeds it way the hell up (including downloading maps and contacting server! I don't know either!) but I have seen a couple crashes since but I have nothing to compare it with.

_________________
Ninge wrote:
Seeing how I am the oldest member here, besides joe, you must please me with something or joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:47 pm 
 Zookeeper and Conductor of Prose
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:02 pm
Posts: 229
autoexec.cfg no longer exists in that location.

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVcnX3B9WsU


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 1:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 5:46 pm
Posts: 2277
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:72872
Lexiprawn wrote:
autoexec.cfg no longer exists in that location.



D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\cfg

D:\ being C:\ for most people, I have extra HDD ~ Updated Scooby's post with this change

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 5:09 pm 
 Im hungry, i need a fur burger
 <font color=blue>Im hungry, i need a fur burger</font>
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Posts: 9909
Location: under your bed
SteamID: STEAM_0:0:17398366
oh god lexi wtf

_________________
YouTube Channel
Twitch Stream
Twitter Page


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:47 pm 
 Now With Added Calcium!
 <b>Now With <font color=#00689c>Added Calcium!</font></b>
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:04 pm
Posts: 11392
SteamID: STEAM_0:1:16121838
oh god the necromancy

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 10:15 pm 
 Zookeeper and Conductor of Prose
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:02 pm
Posts: 229
I came across a lot in my search for the Admin Application forum.

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVcnX3B9WsU


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TF2 Performance Optimization
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:28 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:12 pm
Posts: 4772
Location: Fresno, CA
Xfire: scobywhru
Twines thread on this probably would have been the better necro he had a more optimized low resource config then I ever bothered with.

_________________
Image
Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy wrote:
He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

It is currently Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:28 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group