Help creating a TFC mod

Portal, Left 4 Dead, Half Life. All those good games.
aabicus

Help creating a TFC mod

Post by aabicus » Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:33 pm

Hello, I'm new to modding, but I would like some help modding on Team Fortress Classic.

I'll start with the simplest steps, and if I can successfully understand your instructions to fix those, I'll ask more complicated ones.

I've been trying to follow the steps laid out at this url. I've downloaded ripent but it crashes immediately upon startup. I think it might be because my computer uses Windows 7. Does ripent (or BSPEdit) have problems with Windows 7?
Joejoe347

Re: Help creating a TFC mod

Post by Joejoe347 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:27 pm

I don't know much about source modding in general but I would like to know why you are starting with TFC and not a more recent and played game?
Mozart, dope for the most part.
-Insane Clown Posee

I AM THE MOJOE!!!
Ian7
【=◈︿◈=】

Post by Ian7 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:47 pm

Joejoe347 wrote:I don't know much about source modding in general but I would like to know why you are starting with TFC and not a more recent and played game?
Probably because its simpler. And easier to learn.
duh
mbaxter wrote:Loaf was banned by rottencheeseCA for one minute, for reason "fuck"
Canonuluvx wrote:This article is very well written Geese and ducks can be used very much.
Follow me on the twit:@ian7j2
aabicus

Post by aabicus » Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:11 am

Basically, yeah. An old multiplayer, plus I have several friends who enjoy the game so I can use them as testers.

In about an hour I'll be home and can try my desktop, its possible my laptop doesn't have the resources to run these programs.
aabicus

Post by aabicus » Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:45 am

It's not working :( In both cases when I run ripent.exe it flashes a DOS-command line which instantly shuts down.